Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Dear Newest Delusion
0:00
-2:43

Dear Newest Delusion

This is part two to Prefrontal Cortex!

Thanks for reading Micro Musings Podcast! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Dear Newest Delusion,

Sweet talk me into loving you

Tell me that you’ll catch me if I fall for you

Knowing you’ll discard once you get what you want

And that I’ll forgive you no matter the cost,

My innocence, my sanity, the world, my naivety

Laugh me into forgetting about the tears

Kiss the scars you left me to heal

Then cut me deeper with words like daggers

My darling backstabber, I’ll call out for you

As you walk away, leaving me to bleed out

Gasping for air as I wonder

How much time I wasted on your potential?

Seeing all you could be and not what’s in front of me

I truly am my own worst enemy

Because rose-colored glasses only lead to resentment

And hatred for myself because you told me how this ends

But I foolishly believe my love could prevent

The untimely demise of our relationship.

I’m sorry that it took me so long to realize this is not where I belong

But you didn’t even decide for yourself that she was what you no longer wanted

I know I said I would take some time for me but all I really needed was a couple of seconds

Because in the time it took for you to leave, I had already cleaned up your mess

I know I said you wouldn’t be single for long and truth is I was projecting

You say your codependency may be strong but my loneliness is everlasting.

Share


As always, take what resonates and leave what doesn’t!

With love, always

Natasha K

Discussion about this podcast

Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Each post features original works and offers a unique glimpse into the inspirations and stories behind the pieces. Alongside these personal reflections, we host guest readings from poets whose voices bring their own creations to life.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Natasha K