Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Weeping Willows
0:00
-2:38

Weeping Willows

I wrote most of this in the moment because he hates poetry, which means he hates my entire essence. And in an effort to prove a point, that you can make poetry about anything, I wrote as we sat in his car. Most if not all details of this poem relate directly back to the moment in which it was written. I read the beginning to him and he laughed because I said "weeping willows and water ice". I get it, a little silly, a little unserious. But we were parked in front of a willow tree and eating water ice, very on the nose to me. But regardless, I had fun writing this and tapping into a delusional state that I otherwise would not be in. And if for some reason you're seeing this, don't take anything I say seriously. Honestly, that's a disclaimer for everyone, actually.

Thanks for reading Micro Musings Podcast! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

THE POEM

Every white Ford explorer reminds me of
Weeping willows and water ice
Sunset talks parked at the playground
Watching hockey on the small screen of your car
While kids caught fireflies
I listened to your Pennsylvania accent explain what's wrong with Florida's defense
It's these small moments like this
Where everything's almost worth it
The confusion and frustration
All to be able to stare at you in awe
Studying your details out of fear
That I may forget
Only to turn towards the window
When you look back at me
Avoiding your gaze while committing your face to memory
Because it’d be a shame if were to misremember
The sound of your voice saying my name 
Or the look of concentration you wear during games 
And even that gorgeous smile of yours
Rarely shone across your pretty face
Almost tragic we’ll never see each other again
But I guess it’s better this way

DISCARDED LINES

Some lines that didn’t quite make the cut and that I don’t currently see a use for:

  • Do your eyes follow me the way mines follow you? Does your mind run rampant with thoughts and daydreams and fantasies too?

  • Like your deep brown eyes hidden behind thick-framed glasses

  • The less we talk, the harder it is to remember Monday

JOURNAL ENTRY

I struggled with this poem a lot because I had nothing left to say. In all honesty, I forgot about it. There were way more important things happening that day, my ex told me I was causing problems in his relationship (we hadn't talked in weeks) and I had an anxiety attack from seeing a girl I dated. It was honestly a very puzzling day, but I pushed those feelings aside to go hang out with this guy I had known for a little bit. He and I were flirty but nothing serious because I could never get a read on him, not that I really wanted one. It was way more fun this way (remember I am the problem to my cause). Anyways we hung out as detailed in the poem and then stopped talking. Quite frankly, I forgot about him. In a now deleted journal entry somewhere in my phone, I remember detailing my struggle to remember his face and name about two weeks after that.

THE PROMPTS

  1. Journal Prompt: Reflect on a small, seemingly insignificant moment that has stayed with you over the years. Why do you think it has stuck with you? Write about the emotions it brings up.

  2. Creative Writing Prompt: Write a story about two characters who share a fleeting, beautiful connection, but know they can never be together. What keeps them apart, and how do they cope with the separation?

  3. Poetry Prompt: Compose a poem that highlights the beauty in the mundane—small details, fleeting moments, or everyday rituals that hold deeper meaning.

  4. Poetry Prompt: Write a poem centered around an object or a location that reminds you of a person or a moment in your life. Use vivid imagery to convey the emotions tied to it.

    Leave a comment

As always, take what resonates and leave what doesn’t!

With love, always

Natasha K

Thanks for reading Micro Musings Podcast! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Each post features original works and offers a unique glimpse into the inspirations and stories behind the pieces. Alongside these personal reflections, we host guest readings from poets whose voices bring their own creations to life.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Natasha K