Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Second Place
0:00
-4:29

Second Place

THE POEM

And so the day has finally come

Where I admit I wanted you to break me

To kill that version of myself so I could be

Forced to deal with all that I deny

At first, I wanted to change out of spite

Because you spoke so definitely of the routines in my life

But I came to understand that this was still deserting myself

And having done me wrong enough, I’m taking action to better me

Self-reproach, seeing the error in my ways

Metanoia, deeply desiring a change

My only solution was to hide away

And reevaluate self

Get a clearer picture of all the damage I dealt

Face to face with a disconnected self

I had to unlearn the person in the mirror

Shielding myself from uncomfortable truths

I brought to light the parts of me I despised

Previously blind to the beauty others saw

I was made to see all that I believed to be hidden

Then I found myself in a process of self-destruction

Rejecting all I believed to be true

Creating my new reality

Finetuning my definition of what it means to just be

And within my radical self acceptance

Did I finally start to see myself

And all my features and all my talents

Acknowledging the value I hold

And when you finally see me again

I will still be me but anew

Not that I’m waiting on you

I’m long past us now

Because I know I’d have to be the one to reach out

And I progressed past that now!

As always, take what resonates and leave what doesn’t!

With love, always

Natasha K

Thanks for reading Micro Musings Podcast! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Each post features original works and offers a unique glimpse into the inspirations and stories behind the pieces. Alongside these personal reflections, we host guest readings from poets whose voices bring their own creations to life.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Natasha K