Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
good for the content, bad for the brand
0:00
-3:18

good for the content, bad for the brand

do it for the content

Recently, I made a decision that was not in my best interest but here I am writing about it, so it couldn’t have been that bad. I reached out to someone who had been on my mind despite being no-contact. I contemplated about sending the multiple voice messages for about 30 minutes before I said the three worst words to ever hit my vocabulary.

“For the Content”

I honestly didn’t know what to expect from the conversation or if we would actually have a conversation at all. In my voice messages, I said that I didn’t know what I was hoping to accomplish, maybe a false sense of closure because I lowkey believe that closure conversations are a scam. I then proceeded to apologize for my part in the downfall of our relationship but also friendship.

This is lowkey a part two to “problem to my cause” because it’s on the same topic and I just never seem to learn my lesson I guess.


Thanks for reading Micro Musings Podcast! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

THE POEM

I never touched hot stoves as a kid,
Wasn’t too interested in anything that screamed danger
But I did open cabinets,
Doors my mother warned about keeping closed
I never cared about her cautionary tales
Always wanting to scout the house my way
I’d run off, ready to explore areas that looked to be the size of me
And never close them all way, in case I wanted to return the next day
Eventually, she took action, realizing her words weren’t enough
And hid one of those bobbleheads in a cabinet I liked to play in to catch me off guard
She knew those things frightened me
And that it would get me to stop.
I screamed my little head off and ran away,
Not returning to my magical cabinets for years.
And now as an adult, I still don't touch hot stoves
But I keep trying to unlock doors
Doors that should remain forever closed
Forgetting they were shut for reason, be it my doing or another’s
And once opened an avalanche begins
Repeating patterns because I’m not learning my lesson 
Expecting a different result in my fantasy land
Similar to when I was kid, I refuse to listen
Searching for clarity yet prolonging an ending.

July 2024

I refrained from being completely honest about what I wanted because it just led down the same path we’d already traveled twice before. Instead, I chose to focus on being a reassuring voice and conveying my regret while standing by my decision not to rekindle anything. And sure it hurts now, but less than before the conversation. I feel a little lighter and he no longer plagues my mind, so a win is a win, I guess.

Oh and if you’re reading this, I’m truly sorry for how everything happened. Always wishing you the best!

THE PROMPTS

With all of this lovely reflection, I will leave you with some prompts to get your creative juices flowing:

  • Childhood Curiosity: Reflect on a childhood experience where you ignored a warning or caution. How did it shape your behavior or mindset as you grew older? How does this memory influence your current actions or decisions?

  • Patterns and Lessons: Identify a pattern in your life that you find yourself repeating. What lessons do you think you need to learn from this pattern? How can you work towards breaking it?

  • Unlocked Doors: Create a narrative about an adult who has a habit of unlocking metaphorical doors from their past. Each door reveals a different aspect of their history, leading to a journey of self-discovery and understanding.

  • The Doors We Open: Craft a poem about the metaphorical doors we choose to open or close in our lives. What lies behind these doors, and what consequences do we face when we open them?

RECOMMENDED MEDIA

Some media that inspired this episode:

  • STFU - Jessie Reyez (Don't do it 'cause I need to, I do it for the thrill}


Leave a comment

As always, take what resonates and leave what doesn’t!

With love, always

Natasha K

Thanks for reading Micro Musings Podcast! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

Micro Musings Podcast
Micro Musings
Each post features original works and offers a unique glimpse into the inspirations and stories behind the pieces. Alongside these personal reflections, we host guest readings from poets whose voices bring their own creations to life.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Natasha K